older newest email profile guestbook poodesigns diaryland
02.01.04 : 1:31 pm

thursday

thursday i woke up and got dressed and walked in the pouring rain to the bus stop, because really, you shouldn't drive your car everywhere.

i got off the bus to transfer, got a little turned around, and befriended a kind soul by the name of ron who pointed me in the direction i needed to go. while waiting for the next bus i got soaked. and lots of people smiled at me and told me i was crazy not to have brought an umbrella.

i got on the new bus and made it a point to smile at everyone in their car. most people smiled back. i even got a wave.

and then i was standing across the street from bartell drugs looking for my new friend, who was fairly easy to spot in a bright orange sweater.

we headed to the henry art gallery, where they wouldn't let me wear my jacket in because it was too wet. so for the second time in my life, i utilized a coat room.

we went into the first exhibit and sat there for a few minutes to soak it all up. checked out some other things, ended up at the second 'interactive' exhibit, in which we took off our shoes, put on slippers, and walked into a white room where people looked like colored cartoon characters on a blank canvas. it was surreal.

and then back to collect my coat and off to a coffee shop. a coffee shop i normally would have passed by without a second glance. but my friend said it was cool, and so in i went and ordered my soy chai. and my friend's coffee had little hearts in it, the sign of a good baristi. the coffee fueled a fantastic conversation, and then it was back to the bus stop, with a kind hug as my parting prize.

met my roommate on the stairs as we were both heading up to our place. nearly ran into each other, actually, and got a good laugh over that. wet clothes into the dryer, wet me into the shower, and then a relaxing night with a good book.

that's the best thursday i've had in quite some time.

any thoughts? (1)����������������