older newest email profile guestbook poodesigns diaryland
02.02.04 : 12:45 am

friday

friday i had plans to meetup with a friend for lunch at noon. we were going to check out the globe cafe. from there i was going to run errands and spend some time downtown before meeting up with another friend later on in the day.

i got dressed and was ready to walk out the door. i reached for my keys, and they weren't there. i had let my roommate borrow my car to drive to work, because his windshield wipers weren't working properly, and rain was in the forecast. it made sense that he would have my keys then. so i looked for his. no dice. called him. oops, he had both. i have to call my friend and cancel, because i can't leave my house. no key means i can't get into the building.

i'm bummed, my friend is bummed but incredibly understanding. i'm thinking, great, i'm stuck at home. i love my place, but being stuck anywhere isn't terribly appealing. my roommate said he'd make it up to me. i decided to do some cleaning. i felt better.

roommate gets home, i get my keys. roomie takes off to hang out with the boys. i call up my buddy and arrange to hang out. i go pick him up, we drive around cap hill dropping off literature and such. end up at the teapot and i try rose 'chickn' for the first time, good stuff. i order a tofu mango cheesecake to go.

nothing interesting is happening at this point, and i feel like going home. on my way i get a call, an invite to hang out. sure, why not, i'd only be doing laundry anyway.

i park in front on the college inn, make my way down the stairs and spend what seems like three hours perfecting my deer in the headlights look while trying to spot my friend. no orange sweater to help me out this time.

see him. am treated to another awesome hug, and a beer. met friends of my friend, and watch games of pool that never end. last call, and we're off to the international district. a place called the purple dot cafe. it's very hong kong. my friend would know, he's been there. some like it hot, the menu says. some like it cold. we giggle over the section titled 'supernoodle in superbowl.' i'm not drunk, and yet i grab up my chopsticks and do an impression of a japanese anime character, "supernoodle in superbowl!" i cheer, as if i'm sporting pigtails and wearing knee-high socks. so much laughter.

i order the buddha's delight. an asparagus meal is also ordered, and a chicken dish too. conversation is crazy. the tea is hot. some like it hot, after all.

back to my car, now the only one on the street. they wait to make sure it starts, i'm impressed. i head home, and in the garage i get a call from my roomie requesting i talk his ear off to keep him up on the remainder of his trip home. i'm giddy, i happily oblige. roomie is home, we both smell like smoke. my socks especially, which was odd. showered and clean, i end up in bed at 5:30am, knowing i'll be up at 10 and not dreading it one bit.

that's the best friday i've had in quite some time.

any thoughts? (1)����������������