older newest email profile guestbook poodesigns diaryland
01.18.03 : 11:43 pm

oh. my. god.

i am such an amazon whore.

it all started so innocently. i was surfing around and came across a new site, that of fellow d-lander pezloko, where in one entry she expressed excitement about the announcement of the release of the latest harry potter book.

my first thought was, ``wtf? why didn't i get my notice from amazon? i signed up for that little notify list thing. bloody bastards.`` and then it hit me like a ton of bricks falling from a blue blue sky... ``ohmygod ohmigawd! the new harry potter book is mere months away from being in my happy little hands! aaah!``

so i click on the cnn site that pezloko linked, and read:

LONDON, England (Reuters) -- Harry Potter publisher Bloomsbury Publishing Plc said on Wednesday that the fifth book in J.K. Rowling's children's fantasy adventure series would be published on June 21.

The book would be called "Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix," as previously announced, Bloomsbury said in a statement.

June 21 is a Saturday, meaning eager fans will not have to miss a day off school or work to buy the new book.

with the exception of this eager fan who happens to work on saturdays. bah!

after having worked in a bookstore when previous copies of the latest harry potter books were released, i know better than to enter such a store on such a day unless i'm going to be getting paid to stand safely behind the counter. as well, i learned that the books damn near fly off the shelves. (i was going to make some cheesy harry potter quidditch reference, but i'll spare you all the pain and myself the humiliation.)

so. i was left with only one choice - the almighty amazon.com. bastards though they may be for not notifying me, i'm willing to look past that (especially considering i might have, yunno, accidentally deleted the message, i can't be entirely sure) and throw my hard earned money into their fat greedy little hands.

... because i got a nice paycheck last week, paid all my bills, and felt like being a little spendy. which was the same excuse i used last night, before this harry potter discovery, when i stocked up on geeky dog training books and a pretty audubon engagement calendar. that was round 'bout fifty bucks, as was tonight's purchase of dog biscuit cookbooks and of course, the pre-order of harry potter.

i spent roughly one hundred dollars in under forty-eight hours. lawdy. i've certainly spent more than that in shorter amounts of time before, but something about this purchase makes me giggle with guilty glee. it's my money, and i splurged on me and being a poor college kid i don't often get the chance to do that. usually, i focus on the necessities, and a trip to the movies here and there.

books have always been a great source of enjoyment for me though, so i think this little moment of recklessness felt especially good because although i could have saved that hundred for boring textbooks or some other equally unexciting thing, i didn't. normally i would have, but this time my inner bookworm screamed out, ``spoil yourself! you deserve it! when was the last time you allowed yourself to go hog wild in a bookstore, online or otherwise?! buy buy buuuy!``

and i listened. and soon my doorstep will be brimming with boxes of books for my betterment.

amazon owns me.

any thoughts? (1)����������������