older newest email profile guestbook poodesigns diaryland
12.23.02 : 12:01 am

The Great Christmas Survey of 2002. Nabbed from the beautiful journal of Tygerchild. Who nabbed it from others, which is why I don't feel bad. *g*

1. When do you put up the Christmas tree?

My family never had a set date. We'd always have it up sometime in the first two weeks of December. This year, Rob and I put it up right after Thanksgiving.

2. Real or Fake?

Fake. But it's looks really really real. *g* My Mom is severely allergic to the real tree smell, so fake it is. I have no problems with this, as it's less mess, and my dogs are less likely to pee on it.

3. Lights? What color?

But of course, and in every color! We do one string of white/clear lights, and then two or three of colored. I love Christmas lights! But then, who doesn't?

4. Garland?

Yup. Always silver. It's so shiny! And the colorful Christmas lights are made even brighter by the reflection the garland provides.

5. Theme or No theme?

No theme. Unless, you call the theme ``Memories`` or something. There are ornaments on there from before I was born. Ornaments form Japan, Australia, Cuba, and a million other places. Ornaments that I made in Girl Scouts. Ornaments that my Mom made. Cartoon characters and pretty crystal acorns, and candy canes. And, most recently, ornaments home to pictures of the mutts.

6. What kind of topper?

When I was growing up, my Mom was hooked on this super-80s silver garland-type cross with five colored lights in the middle. As soon as I became tall enough, that topper mysteriously disappeared. In its place was a rather elegant angel wearing robes of gold and white. Two years ago I convinced my Mom to make a switch from religious toppers to something more universal. So since then we've had this absolutely gorgeous crystal topper with hand painted snowflakes on it. Very pretty.

7. What's your favorite ornament?

Oh, I don't think I could ever decide on just ONE favorite! Since I've always been the one to decorate the tree, I ask everyone else involved to put the first ornaments up. This year Rob was first with a Scooby-Doo ornament in honor of Maddie, Gary hung up a Sailor ornament (oh the irony!), and I picked a little fairy princess figure. I am really partial to all things snowflake, though.

8. What does your tree skirt look like?

It's snow white with embroidered silver snowflakes and little silver beads on it. (Goes good with the topper.)

9. Where do you put your tree?

In the back living room by the fire place, where we'll see it the most.

10. Who decorates the tree?

Primarily, me. Some time ago I got voted into the job, and I love it.

11. What's "under" the tree?

Presents! Lots of them! Somehow, no matter how poor I am, I always manage to pile so many present under the tree that I end up sitting back and going, ``Where the hell did all that come from?!``

12. Do you put candy canes on your tree?

Only fake ones, because the mutts try to eat the real ones and we can't have that.

About The Foods

1. What's your favorite Christmas cookie?

Oatmeal raisin ranks #1, with chocolate chip a close second.

2. Do you bake cookies and give them away?

Well if you count giving them away to the roomies.... but otherwise, no.

3. Any "special" foods or candy that you only have at Christmas time?

Candy canes and Fudge. Oh, and I normally don't drink Sparkling Cider.

4. What do you eat on Christmas EVE?

I dunno? As far a traditions are concerned, especially concerning food, my family doesn't really have much to offer. This year however, Rob and I are going to prepare a few pasta dishes and casseroles. I'll probably stuff my face with banana nut bread.

5. What do you eat on Christmas day?

See above regarding eating traditions. Since my Mom and Jim are coming over to dine with us Christmas Eve, Rob and I are doing Christmas dinner only with one another. We're thinking of making some type of vegetarian lasagna with fixings.

6. Do you like Eggnog? Spiked or Not Spiked?

Not really. I'm told I used to though. Rob drinks it mixed with 7-Up, but I haven't worked on controlling my gag-reflex enough to try that combination just yet.

7. Do you like candy canes?

Love 'em! But only the traditional ones. The others are just icky impostors.

About The Decorations

1. Where do you hang your stockings?

On the fireplace mantle.

2. Do you put lights on your house?

Sometimes yes, sometimes no. Not this year, but next year definitely!

3. Got any outside lawn decorations?

Again, next year!

4. Do you put up a nativity?

Nope.

5. Do you hang mistletoe under the door?

Nah. In another reference to my dogs, it's poisonous to canines, so we play it safe and do without. There's enough kissing going on here anyway. *wink*

6. Got a wreath on your front door?

Nope.

7. How long does it take you to decorate?

A full day.

About The Movies/Shows

1. Favorite Children's Xmas TV show/cartoon?

Does Miracle on 34th Street count?

2. Wonderful Life / Miracle on 34th Street / A Christmas Carol...Which is the best?

Miracle on 34th Street.

3. Favorite Christmas movie?

Ummm... probably A Christmas Story. That, or Scrooge.

4. Have you ever seen the Nutcracker Suite Ballet live?

Once.

5. Ever been to the Radio City Music Hall Christmas show?

Not yet.

6. Ever gone to the movies on Christmas Day?

Every year since I was six. I think that's the only Christmas tradition my family has.

7. Did you know it's the biggest day of the box-office?

Yep.

Other Christmas Things....

1. Favorite Christmas book or story?

'Twas The Night Before Christmas will always be a favorite.

2. Do you stuff your stockings with any types of food?

My Mom is big on oranges and nuts. I throw in candy canes and chocolate.

3. Do you go to church on Christmas or Christmas Eve?

Don't believe I ever have...

4. Have you ever gone Caroling?

I think twice, both times with the Girl Scouts.

5. Favorite Christmas Carol?

A tie between It's the Most Wonderful Time of the Year and Grandma Got Run Over by a Reindeer.

6. Do you believe in Santa?

Of course!

7. Do you leave Santa cookies?

Yes, with his glass of soy milk. And I leave the reindeer organic carrots, too. *l*

8. What about Rudolph...leave him anything?

See above.

9. What was your best Christmas gift?

Cheesy as it is, my favorite thing is just having my loved ones near. I never ask for anything. I have gotten some great gifts, though. To pick the `best` one, I'd first have to pick a year...

10. What was the worst/most odd gift?

I can't think of one.

11. Do you go to a "work" Christmas party?

No. I considered going this year, but quickly changed my mind when I realized that the only people signed up to go where those of whom I did not have a particularly strong liking.

12. Do you like/hate going to the "work" Christmas Party?

See above.

13. Do you send Christmas cards (handmade or bought)?

Normally I make cards for Rob and my Mom, I pick out really special cards for a handful of friends I hold especially dear, and I send out bought cards to all other loved ones. That is not the case this year, as finals week dropped me off right at Christmas' doorstep lost, confused, and very pressed for time. I think I'll be sending out New Years cards instead. (Tidbit: Between the ages of 12 and 17 my Mom and I made Christmas cards for all friends and family, usually about 40-60 people. It was a lot of work.)

14. Do you make a "list"?

In my mind only.

15. Do you check it twice?

I guess so?

16. Have you been "naughty" or "nice"?

Nice! Well, okay... maybe I've been a little bit naughty. *g*

17. Who's on your list this year?

Mom, Rob, Jim, Cori and mi amigas, Joanna, Tyson, Josh, James, and Gary.

18. When do you start shopping?

Eh, I dunno. I just pick up stuff as I go.

19. Do you shop on Black Friday?

I normally stay far FAR away from the malls and shopping centers that day. This year, Mom dragged me with. Never again!

20. ARE YOU READY FOR CHRISTMAS?

You betcha'!

any thoughts? (0)����������������