older newest email profile guestbook poodesigns diaryland
12.06.02 : 11:50 am

*warning: if you easily become squeamish, the following story is probably not one you'd like to read.*

plug(s): a type of earring, usually cylinder in appearence, coming in a variety of sizes and colors. ga, or gauages, typically run from size 14 and up. the lower the number, for instance 2ga, the bigger the plug. for a mental image, click here.

________________________________

i think it was a week or two ago when i lost one of my plugs. it just fell out, and was gone.

this problem had happened to rob quite often, but it was a first occurrence for me.

as you can imagine, i was annoyed, frustrated, and slightly devastated as well.

so, to remedy my plug-lessness i went in search of new plugs. i just wanted to stay with my current size, so i was looking for 8ga. no local shops had the kind i wanted, solid; they only had hollow ones. but being the internet-savvy chica that i am, i turned to the online world in my time of need. i found what i wanted, and clicked buy.

then, the waiting game began. i waited, and waited. and i moaned in here about how i was waiting. and then waited some more.

what i forgot to pay attention to in all of my waiting fervor, was the fact that my right, plus-less hole was slowly closing.

i did not get pierced at 8ga. i got pierced at something like 12ga, and stretched my way up to 8. ewwwww, i know.

so anyway, i got my plugs in the mail this week and i was very excited to pop them in and return to my normal state of two-plug being.

but wait... these plugs seemed bigger than the ones previous. hummmm.

so i chalked that up to a perception problem on my part and soaked them in cleansing fluid.

i returned an hour later, took out my old plug, and then attempted to put my new ones in. key word here: attempted.

turns out my perception is just fine.

in my left ear, the one that hadn't been victim to a runaway plug, i was attempting to put the new, slightly larger, plug in. in my right ear, the one that had been plug-less, i was trying to work the OLD 8ga in, as it seemed that the hole had closed considerably in the week plus that i had been without something to fill it.

so there i was, struggling away, trying to slowing work the plugs into my ears.

enter rob.

rob is always no-nonsense in my times of crisis.

so there i sat, quite agitated at the whole situation, not knowing whether to press on or admit defeat, and rob says he'll help.

my agitation quickly gave way to fear. when rob has helped me in plug-related matters before, it hasn't exactly been painless.

i trembled. thanks but no, i thought. i don't need your help.

but then words were spoken that seemed to make so much sense. says rob, ``but sweetie, it's late. you don't want to be here all night doing this. you'll lose valuable sleep. here, let me just take a look.``

in a moment of what could only have been insanity, i agreed to let him ``take a look.``

within seconds i felt a small pinch, and saw him lean back and smile. ``there,`` he said, ``that wasn't so bad, now was it?``

surprisingly, no, it wasn't. so i didn't protest when he offered to ``take a look`` at my other ear. my right ear. yunno, the one where the hole had all but closed.

due to a slight miscommunication, or perhaps some long withheld desire to cause me pain (although he denies the latter), my boyfriend proceeded to *pop* the skin out of the hole in my right ear, pushing the new, larger, 8ga through. (i had thought he was going to go for the old 8ga, since my hole was nearly closed. but he hadn't realized it was closed that much. and plus, he later added, ``but baby, how was i supposed to know you wanted to have two different ones in? you always like things to match.``)

this was last night. the night where i wasn't able to sleep on my right side because my ear was so tender. the night where rob gave me extra kisses and cuddles to avoid being murdered in his sleep.

and now, i'm sitting here this afternoon recounting this tale. i want a record of this so that next time i accidentally step on his toe and he causes a fuss over ``how much it huuuuurts,`` i'll print out this little documentation right here and tell him to zip it.

the good news though, is that the pain has for the most part subsided. it's more of a dull aching now, as opposed to the sheering sting of the previous night.

... but shhhhsh. don't tell him that. i think i can still get an ice cream out of all of this. *g*

any thoughts? (1)����������������