older newest email profile guestbook poodesigns diaryland
11.26.02 : 6:59 pm

i walked in the door this evening, returning home from school, and i was ``punched`` in the face by a near-90 pound great dane.

usually, maddie is still in her crate when i get home. so, i let her out, she goes potty, and by that time she's calmed down to the point that she can give me hugs and kisses without causing injury.

this was not the case today.

tyson let maddie out when he got home, and she'd already done her potty-calm down routine. so, when i walked through the door, her excitement took over. she approached me (a nice way of saying leapt over the couch and into the air) to give me ``kisses`` ... and effectively landed her massive head on my chin, causing my jaw to get knocked out of whack.

i applied some ice, so there's minimal swelling, but it still hurts like hell.

tyson would have laughed, only, it's happened to him too. so we just kind of sat there and swapped maddie `war stories` until i was able to get on my feet. oh, the joys of a large breed puppy.

the thing is, she's trained to `sit` before getting hugs, or giving kisses. so this usually is not an issue.

it was merely a factor today, because i didn't know she wasn't in her crate, and my reaction time between her flying towards me and her `sit` command fell short.

ah, well. you live, you learn. at least i'm still here to tell the tale. *g*

oh, and getting hit with her tail? that's a whole other issue entirely!

any thoughts? (0)����������������