older newest email profile guestbook poodesigns diaryland
09.07.02 : 1:01 am

yunno how your mom probably told you ``if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything at all``...?

well, i've taken it upon myself to modify that to suit these more technology-driven times. ``if you don't have anything nice to say, don't use names``... ha. *g*

a friend of mine, we'll call her kelly (because that's the name of the call-me-now-for-a-good-time-girl i just heard on tv, wtf) is pissed off at me. because she's being ridiculous and, well... stupid. plain and simple.

some background - she bought tickets for a concert a year ago to attend with her boyfriend (as well as her brothers and his dozens of friends and some of their girlfriends, etc.) anyway, kelly and her boy have since broken up. so, she asked me to attend the concert, which is out-of-town, with her.

now, i love the artist putting on this concert, so of course i'd love to go. however. she asked me the day before i started my new job, and so i told her this - i'd love to go, but i'm not sure if i'll be able to yet, because of work. i asked her if she needed an answer soon, she said no.

so. this tuesday i find out my accreditation schedule, and manage to get thursday, the day of the concert, off. saturday and sunday off too. but there's no way in hell i can miss my class on friday. i wish it wasn't so cut and dry, but it is.

so i call kelly up right away and tell her the news. i tell her, the only way i can go is if we leave wednesday night (six hour drive) and come back either thursday night after the concert, or friday morning. well, she wants to stay from thursday morning until monday morning. and i simply can't do that. so she gets all pissy and says to me, ``so great, this ticket is going to go to waste because you can't manage to get anyone to cover your shift.``

i explain to her for the 100th time that it's not a `shift`, it's a class, and that's why i can't miss it. i need x amount of hours in x amount of time or jen doesn't get to be a dog trainer.

she refuses to listen to that logic and instead proceeds to accuse me of ruining her time, and i quote, ``now i can't have a good time at the concert because i'll know this ticket has been wasted. and i'm out $30, since you can't go.``

excuse me? i mean, jesus, what is she smokin'? she bought the damn ticket a year ago for her then boyfriend, and i never said i could go, i said i had to find out and that i was interested in going!

so. *deep breath* there's really no point to all of this ranting, other than it feels really good to get it out of my system and i need some place to bitch about how much it pisses me off for someone to be blaming me for them being out $30, when i had nothing to do with it. furthermore, there's still a friggin' month to the concert, so find someone else to go. bee-yatch.

and yeah. i guess this is made even more infuriating, because this same fuckin' thing happened with jody.

jody: wanna go to vegas with me for my b-day?

jen: i'd love to! but you know how broke i am, so i could only do it if it'd be a cheap trip, hotel and whatnot has to be under $100.

jody: okay, great!

-three days later-

jody: i've been looking around online. i've decided i want to stay at the luxor friday, saturday, and sunday nights. and i don't want to drive, i want to fly. they have great vacation packages, it'll only be about $300 each.

jen: no can do, i have bills to pay. i can only swing $100 for this, especially on such short notice.

jody: but it's my birthday and since i broke up with ----, he can't go with me!

jen: i'll go with you, i'd love to, but i can only spend $100 on all the hotel stuff. i've spent four+ days in vegas before, for $70, and had a blast, so i know it can be done.

jody: but i want to fly!

jen: i can't go then... you might want to ask someone else.

jody: you've ruined my birthday.

that from a girl who is admittedly the most selfish person in existence. as if it weren't obvious.

but now this bullshit, with kelly. it's frustrating. i can't stand being blamed for shit that isn't my fault. i mean, sorry your boy left your ass and all, but i can't be expected to shell out serious cash/time to make up for your relationship not working out.

cause hell, i'm always there to listen and talk and hang out with my friend at three in the am when they're crying their eyes out because of this or that. i'm the friend that will pick you up from the car dealership and go to lunch with you so you don't have to wait in a smelly garage while your oil gets changed and your tires get rotated.

but to get pissy with me because finances and/or my job won't allow me to run off to vegas/northern cali for three or four days? fuck you. i love vegas, i love n. cali. i love traveling and trips and getaways. i love concerts. more importantly, i love my friends.

and seriously. i need to get rid of all the needy people in my life. i know friendship is about giving. and i don't mind that. honestly. but giving to people is only enjoyable when they're not needy. when you're dealing with needy, clingy people, it's impossible to please them because they just want (need) more more more.

kelly gets happy when i go to lunch with her. at lunch, smiling from ear to ear, she'll ask me to go to lunch with her the next day. i can't, i say, i have a doctors appointment. (all true.) and then she'll get all glum and disappointed and the rest of the lunch is crap.

*sigh* i'm really sick of being a friend to people without them being a friend to me.

that's why i'm thankful to have people like rob, cori, dwan, joanna, snaf, and new hampshire jenn in my life. it's all about give and take baby.

any thoughts? (0)����������������